New Webinar – Achieving health equity: Providing skilled breastfeeding support universally


As part of your World Breastfeeding Week celebrations, please join us for Achieving health equity: Providing skilled breastfeeding support universally.

In this webinar sponsored by the Global Breastfeeding Collective, WHO and UNICEF, key global leaders will discuss why investment in skilled breastfeeding support is essential to achieving equitable health outcomes. The audience will hear from funders, implementing organizations and national government level leaders.

As a part of ILCA’s efforts as members of the Global Breastfeeding Collective, Mudiwah Kadeshe, immediate past president, will be speaking and Lisa Mandell, global advocacy adviser, is serving as the chair of the task group organizing this event. We hope that you can join us.

In addition, please share this information with those who can take action to invest in skilled breastfeeding support, including government leaders, health policy makers, and funders.

The webinar will be conducted in English with simultaneous interpretation in French, Spanish, Arabic, and Russian.

Speakers include:

Moderators:

Dr. Victor Aguayo, Associate Director, Programme Division, Chief, Nutrition Programme, United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF)

Dr. Francesco Branca, Director, Department of Nutrition and Food Safety, World Health Organization (WHO)

Speakers:

Dr. France Begin, Senior Advisor, Early Childhood Nutrition, UNICEF

Ms. Mudiwah Kadeshe, Immediate Past President, International Lactation Consultant Association

Mrs. Juliana Abdul Razak, breastfeeding mother, Malaysia

Her Excellency Mrs. Samina Alvi, First Lady of Pakistan

Dr. Laurence Grummer-Strawn, Unit Head, Department of Nutrition and Food Safety, World Health Organization

Dr. Amy E. Pollack, Director, Maternal, Newborn & Child Health, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Ms. Helga Fogstad, Executive Director, Partnership for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health

Dr. Steve Wall, Senior Director, Newborn Health, Save the Children

Dr. Alma Golden, Assistant Administrator for the Bureau for Global Health, United States Agency for International Development

Her Excellency Mrs. Rebecca Akufo-Addo, First Lady of Ghana

Date: 5 August 2020
Time: 13:00 – 14:30 UTC (9:00 New York, 15:00 Geneva, 16:00 Nairobi, 18:00 Islamabad, 22:00 Tokyo) (Click here to see the time in your location)

Free, pre-registration is required: https://bit.ly/SBSequity

3 Responses to New Webinar – Achieving health equity: Providing skilled breastfeeding support universally

  1. Dixie Whetsell, MS, IBCLC 3 August 2020 at 17:11 #

    Will a recording of the session be available afterwards for those who could not attend?

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes

Translate »